Phi Sigma Iota Honorary Society

Congratulations to the 2018/19 Phi Sigma Iota Initiates: 

Lauren V. Bodeicker, German
Allie M. Eynon, French
 Sarah M. Gielink, Spanish
Raissa C. Kanku, French
Lauren E. Mangold, Spanish
Nicole A. Olguin, Spanish
Derian Palmerin, Spanish
Alexander I. Sanchez, French
Christina M. Semeraro, Spanish
Brandon R. Stevens, French
Austin D. Strayer, Spanish

Phi Sigma Iota is an international honor society whose members are selected from among outstanding undergraduate and graduate students of foreign languages and literatures including classics and comparative literature as well as faculties of the institutions honored with a chapter. Its primary objectives are the recognition of remarkable ability and achievement in foreign languages and literatures, and the stimulation of advanced work and individual research in these fields.

The society was founded in 1922 at Allegheny College by Dr. Henry W. Church, members of his Department of Languages, and advanced students who used to meet to discuss linguistic and literary matters. It became a national society when Beta Chapter was established at the Pennsylvania State University in April, 1925, followed less than a year after by Gamma Chapter at the College of Wooster. Iota Xi Chapter was established at Ohio Wesleyan in 1978.

MFL Student Board - 2019.20

Mary Haskett 
Ryan Lesmez 
Paige Martin 
Meredith Richters 
Austin Strayer 
Hannah Treadway 
Adrienned Wentling 
Samantha Winkler