Feature Story, Student Life

April 15, 2019

Ohio Wesleyan’s 2019 Golden Bishop Award recipients are accomplished leaders who have made a positive difference on campus and beyond. (Photo by Spenser Hickey ’15)

2019 Golden Bishop Awards

Ohio Wesleyan Honors 2019 Golden Bishop Award-Winners

By Cole Hatcher

These Ohio Wesleyan University students, faculty, and staff put the spark in sparkle. And for their outstanding achievements in leadership and community service, they have earned gold – 2019 Golden Bishop Awards, that is.

On April 13, the University honored members of the campus community for their successes during the 2018-2019 academic year. Those recognized at the 2019 Golden Bishop Awards included:

Community Service Awards

  • The Sara Paullin Casto Student Humanitarian Award
    • Raissa Kanku ’19 of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo
  • The Patricia G. Young Award for Leadership in Service to Children and Youth
    • Ismail Ozgenc ’20 of Nicosia, North Cyprus
    • Kelly Coffyn ’19 of Bainbridge Island, Washington
  • The Bridge Builder Award
    • Student Ornella Bisamaza ’19 of Kigali, Rwanda
    • Faculty/staff member Joni Garloch ’17 of Youngstown, Ohio – University Advancement constituent records coordinator

Student Involvement Awards

  • Program of the Year
    • 2018 Panhellenic Council: Nathalie Bidwell ’19 of Kettering, Ohio; Kerri Brooks ’19 of Hollywood, Florida; Mackenzie Brunke ’19 of Lewis Center, Ohio; and Katie Kuckelheim ’19 of Solon, Ohio
  • Club Advisor of the Year
    • Jessica Daniels of Delaware, Ohio – Equestrian Team advisor
  • Organization of the Year
    • Ohio Wesleyan Equestrian Team: Officers Callie Angelo ’20 of Monaca, Pennsylvania; Hannah Durr ’19 of Canton, Ohio; Alysa Grindlinger ’20 of Falmouth, Maine; Sarah Sanford ’19 of Wooster, Ohio; Anna Scholle ’21 of Dayton, Ohio; and Reilly Wright ’20 of Delaware, Ohio
  • OWU Spirit Award
    • Alexis Thomas ’20 of Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Outstanding First-Year Student Award
    • Ellie Shoemaker ’22 of London, Ohio

Resident Life Awards

  • New Resident Assistant/Moderator of the Year
    • Selam Weldu ’20 of Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  • Returning Resident Assistant/Moderator of the Year
    • Sinclaire Davis ’20 of Knoxville, Tennessee
  • Residential Life Program of the Year
    • Africa: Languages & Cuisine,” Milany Duarte ’19 of Cabo Verde

WCSA Awards

  • Best New Member Award
    • Armane Pita ’20 of San Francisco, California
  • Best Overall Member Award
    • Jose Matute ’21 of Clinton, North Carolina
  • Donald G. Chenoweth Friend of WCSA Award
    • Nancy Bihl Rutkowski of Lewis Center, Ohio – director of Student Involvement Office and Leadership Development
  • Social Justice Steward Award
    • Daniela Black ’20 of Dublin, Ohio

Guy Sarvis Awards

  • Cindy Huynh ’19 of West Chester, Ohio
  • Brayams Ayala Ramos ’20 of Morelos, Mexico

President’s Club Recognition

Graduating Seniors

  • Sabrina Amato ’19 of Delaware, Ohio
  • Natalie Campbell ’19 of Apex, North Carolina
  • Nina Carmichael-Tanaka ’19 of St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Anna L. Davies ’19 of Saint Clairsville, Ohio
  • Genaye Ervin ’19 of Cleveland, Ohio
  • Evan Hudgens ’19 of Royal Oak, Michigan
  • Emma Johnson ’19 of Canton, Georgia
  • Raissa Kanku ’19 of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Harrison Nickels ’19 of Westerville, Ohio
  • Noah Spicer ’19 of North Reading, Maine
  • Hannah Wargo ’19 of Medina Ohio
  • Benjamin Whitbourn ’19 of Dereham, United Kingdom

New Members

  • Iman Nasir Ashraf ’20 of Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
  • Lily Callander ’22 of Blacklick, Ohio
  • Hanna Cao ’22 of Changsha, Hunan, People’s Republic of China
  • Elisabeth Evers ’22 of Canal Winchester, Ohio
  • Cassandra Farber ’22 of Buffalo Grove, Illinois
  • Cheyenne Hall ’20 of Columbus, Ohio
  • Colin Hawes ’20 of Delaware, Ohio
  • Dylan Hays ’20 of Greenfield, Indiana
  • Lena Ison ’21 of Oakmont, Pennsylvania
  • Addie Mannino ’20 of Norwalk, Ohio
  • Chase Reinert ’22 of Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
  • Ellie Shoemaker ’22 of London, Ohio

Meek Leadership Awards

  • Mackenzie Brunke ’19 of Lewis Center, Ohio
  • Anna Lenora Davies ’19 of St. Clairsville, Ohio
  • Ares Harper ’19 of Columbus, Ohio
  • Raissa Kanku ’19 of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Nina Carmichael-Tanaka ’19 of St. Paul, Minnesota
  • Hannah Wargo ’19 of Medina, Ohio

Visit the Golden Bishop Awards page on the Student Involvement Office website to learn more about the Golden Bishop Awards, as well as view photographs, videos, and programs from past events.

Congratulations, Golden Bishops!

Photos from This Event

2019 Golden Bishop Awards Ceremony