Student Life, Feature Story

175 Years of Leadership and Service

April 26, 2017 – by Cole Hatcher

Ohio Wesleyan’s 2017 Golden Bishop Award recipients represent accomplished leaders who make a positive impact on campus and beyond. (Photo by Mark Schmitter ’12)

Ohio Wesleyan Honors 2017 Golden Bishop Award-Winners

Since its founding in 1842, Ohio Wesleyan University has sought to help students achieve their potential as scholars, as leaders, as humanitarians—as people.

On April 22, the University celebrated 175 years of leadership and service by honoring outstanding students and other members of the campus community at the 2017 Golden Bishop Awards. Those recognized for their contributions were:

Community Service Awards

  • The Ohio Campus Compact Charles J. Ping Student Service Award: Michael Mora-Brenes ’17
  • The Sara Paullin Casto Student Humanitarian Award – Hispanic And Latinx Outreach (H.A.L.O.) leaders:
    • Rosa Escobar ’17
    • Lissette Gonzalez ’17
    • Dalia Lorenzo ’17
    • Michael Mora-Brenes ’17
    • Martha Ronquillo-Garcia ’18
  • The Patricia G. Young Award for Leadership in Service to Children and Youth: Caitlyn Elizabeth Foster ’17
  • The Bridge Builder Award:
    • Christopher Fink, associate professor of health and human kinetics
    • Environment and Wildlife Club
  • OWU Community Service Awards
    • Claire O’Keeffe ’17
    • Shashank “Shank” Sharma ’17

Student Involvement Awards

  • Program of the Year: Culture Fest organized by Horizons International
  • Club Advisor of the Year: Richard Edwards, assistant professor of music, for his work with the National Association for Music Education (NAfME)
  • Club | Organization of the Year: Horizons International
  • Pete and Barbara Smith Leadership Award:
    • Ryan Bishop ’17
    • Lissette Gonzalez ’17
  • OWU Spirit Award: Daud Baz ’17
  • Outstanding First-Year Student Award: Armani Davis ’20

WCSA Awards

  • Best New Member Award: Caroline Hamlin ’19
  • Best Overall Member Award: Ryan Bishop ’17
  • Donald G. Chenoweth Friend of WCSA Award: Dwayne Todd, vice president for student engagement and success and dean of students

Guy Sarvis Award

Guy Sarvis Award: Michael Mora-Brenes ’17

20th Anniversary Meek Leadership Awards

  • Ifa Abduljelil ’17
  • Areena Arora ’17
  • Jessica Choate ’17
  • Jude Fahoum ’17
  • Lissette Gonzalez ’17
  • Lee LeBoeuf ’17
  • Michael Mora-Brenes ’17
  • Jocelyne Muñoz ’17

Visit the Golden Bishop Awards page on the Student Involvement Office website to learn more about the Golden Bishop Awards, as well as view photographs, videos, and programs from past events.

Congratulations, Golden Bishops, may you continue to lead!