Ohio Wesleyan’s 2020-2021 Golden Bishop Award recipients are accomplished leaders who have made a positive difference on the university campus and beyond. Congratulations to these outstanding Bishops! (Photo by Spenser Hickey ’15)

2020-2021 Golden Bishop Awards

Ohio Wesleyan Honors Students for Outstanding Leadership, Community Service, Campus Involvement

By Cole Hatcher

DELAWARE, Ohio – Ohio Wesleyan University is honoring students with Golden Bishop Awards in recognition of their outstanding achievements in leadership, community service, and campus involvement during the current academic year.

Students recognized during a May 12 virtual ceremony and their awards are as follows:

Community Service Awards 

  • Grace Ison ’23 – The Charles J. Ping Student Service Award for work that includes co-founding the Service Engagement and Leadership (SEAL) House and supporting Family Promise of Delaware County, a 24-hour emergency shelter and rapid rehousing referral center.
  • Ellie Shoemaker ’22 – The Patricia G. Young Award for Leadership in Service to Children and Youth for work that includes serving as a teacher for a nonprofit daycare center, tutor for The Columbus Initiative, longtime intern for OWU’s Community Service Learning Center, and reflection leader for two Spring Break Interfaith Service Teams.
  • Desiree Thompson ’23 – The Bridge Builder Award for work that includes supporting the Second Ward Community Initiative’s Unity Community Center.
  • Service Engagement and Leadership (SEAL) House – The Sara Paullin Casto Student Humanitarian Award for work in the community that supports organizations including the Habitat for Humanity ReStore, Salvation Army, Big Brothers Big Sisters, and Family Promise of Delaware County.

Student Involvement Awards

Student Organization Community Impact Awards
  • Black Lives Matter event
    • Black Men of the Future
    • Black Student Union
    • Campus Programming Board
    • College Democrats
    • Rafiki Wa Afrika
    • VIVA
    • Office of Multicultural Student Affairs
  • Rock the Block / Vote event
    • Campus Programming Board
    • College Democrats
    • College Republicans
    • OWU Young Democratic Socialists of America
    • Office of Residential Life
  • The Kindness Campaign
    • Circle K
Student Organization Advisor Recognition Awards
  • Dina Daltorio – Campus Programming Board and President’s Club advisor
  • Brian Emerick – Delta Zeta

OWU Spirit Awards, recognizing winners of the monthly “You Are OWU Awards,” given to students, staff, and faculty for their leadership, success, and accomplishments benefiting the OWU community

  • Student Recipients
    • Zain Amir ’21
    • Karli Bigler ’21
    • Abby Carlson ’21
    • Anna duSaire ’22
    • Autumn Ford ’22
    • Reese Little ’22
    • Hope Lopez ’21
    • Mukami Wamalwa ’21
  • Faculty-Staff Recipients
    • Mike Brockfield
    • Greg Cain
    • Leigh Ann Emmons
    • Allie Hausfeld
    • Melanie Kalb
    • John Krygier
    • Franchesca Nestor
    • Martine Stephens
    • Barb Wiehe

Residential Life Awards

  • Outstanding Resident Assistants / Moderators
    • Jessica Blankenship ’21
    • Kamryn Green ’22
    • Aakash Gupta ’21
    • Sakshi Gupta ’22
    • Grace Ison ’23
    • Logan Kovach ’21
    • AJ Lashway ’23
    • Isabelle Rodriguez ’21
    • Brittani Stiltner ’23
  • Heart of the Community Awards, recognizing work to bring students together inside and outside of their residence halls through creative and engaging programmatic opportunities
    • House of Linguistic Diversity (HOLD)
    • Service Engagement and Leadership (SEAL) House

WCSA Awards

  • Abby Carlson ’21 – Best New Member
  • Elisabeth Evers ’22 – Best Overall Member
  • Chloe Hunt ’22 – Social Justice Steward Award
  • Jason Timpson – Donald G. Chenoweth Friend of WCSA Award

Fraternity & Sorority Life Awards

  • Values In Action Awards
    • Max Berry ’21
    • Colette Cosgrove ’21
    • Anna McReynolds ’21
    • Maia Virgei ’21
  • Community Impact Awards
    • Kappa Alpha Theta – Theta Bee
    • Sigma Phi Epsilon – First Generation Investors Club
  • Recognition of Academic Excellence
    • Delta Zeta
    • Kappa Alpha Theta
    • Phi Gamma Delta (Fiji)
    • Sigma Phi Epsilon

Meek Leadership Awards

Recognizing seniors for exceptional leadership while at Ohio Wesleyan and the promise of exceptional leadership in the future. OWU’s premier student honor, the Meek Award includes a financial gift.

  • Colette Cosgrove ’21
  • Alana Guzman ’21
  • Jose Matute ’21

Watch the 2020-2021 Golden Bishop Awards online and learn more about the annual celebration of excellence at owu.edu/GoldenBishopAwards.

Founded in 1842, Ohio Wesleyan University is one of the nation’s premier liberal arts universities. Located in Delaware, Ohio, the private university offers more undergraduate majors than many universities its size and competes in 24 NCAA Division III varsity sports. Through its signature program, The OWU Connection, Ohio Wesleyan teaches students to integrate knowledge across disciplines, build a diverse and global perspective, and apply knowledge in real-world settings. Ohio Wesleyan is featured in the book “Colleges That Change Lives” and included on the U.S. News & World Report and Princeton Review “best colleges” lists. Learn more at owu.edu.