Shane Andrews (left) earns Ohio Wesley's 2022 Special Thanks and Recognition (STAR) Award, presented by President Rock Jones, for the above-and-beyond work he does as a Buildings and Grounds supervisor. (Photo by Paul Vernon)

STAR Supervisor

Ohio Wesleyan Buildings and Grounds Employee Shane Andrews Wins Annual Staff Award

By Cole Hatcher

For the past 18 years, Shane Andrews has been helping to build a better Ohio Wesleyan University.

For his considerable handyman and people skills, and for his willingness to happily help anyone in need at any time, Andrews has earned Ohio Wesleyan’s 2022 Special Thanks and Recognition (STAR) Award. OWU’s most prestigious staff award, it is presented annually by Staff Council and Department of Human Resources.

“Although I give him special thanks and recognition every day, I guess it’s time to do it publicly,” Jay Scheffel, Andrews’ Buildings and Grounds boss, told the crowd at the Jan. 17 award announcement and staff celebration event.

OWU’s supervisor of buildings and trades, Andrews began working at the university as a contractor before being hired as a B&G staff member in 2007, said Scheffel, who serves as interim director of physical plant.

“I did a little research and since then, Shane has seen 12 complete building renovations, four partial renovations and seven brand new buildings,” Scheffel said. “For each event, he had to locate and stock new material and parts, such as door hardware, paint, carpet, ceiling tiles. He has most of this memorized.”

Andrews’ current duties also include working on special projects such as student move-in and move-out, Reunion Weekend, and commencement.

“He’s the face of B&G for all these events, accommodating in any way he can, always reachable, and representing our division with pride,” Scheffel said.

“What you don’t see, though, is the invisible work he accomplishes – the whiteboard hung when you walk in, the wall repair and painting that just happens, the stained ceiling tile that’s replaced,” Scheffel said. “He’ll be in at 4 a.m. to get this work done so you’re not interrupted during the day. He’s also on call 24/7 for any emergency, from broken windows to freeze-ups. He’s more than building trades and jumps in anywhere needed.”

Andrews accepted the award with his ever-present smile, sharing that his biggest joy is getting to work in all areas and with everyone on campus including students, faculty, and staff.

“For those of you who know me, I’m a people person,” Andrews said. “I enjoy working with every one of you.”

In addition to Andrews, also nominated for the 2022 STAR Award were Darrell Albon, Jenny Batchelder, Jason Cox, Tenique Dennis, Leigh Ann Emmons, Beth Fedoush, Jill Hayes, Tammy Hunter, Chad Johns, Wendi Kay, Ida Mostofi, Kerri Robe, and Sara Stuntz.

Along with the STAR award, Staff Council and Human Resources gave out a new award at the celebration – a Service Partner Award, created to recognize someone not technically employed by Ohio Wesleyan but a valued and valuable member of the campus community.

William Hayes (left) earns OWU's first Service Partner Award and receives a certificate from President Rock Jones. (Photo by Paul Vernon)

The first Service Partner Award was presented to William Hayes, associate chaplain, who has worked on campus for 13 years in partnership with the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania-based Coalition for Christian Outreach. OWU’s relationship with the coalition spans more than 30 years.

At Ohio Wesleyan, Hayes works to support student success by serving as the director of Wilderness Ministry. He also is serving as a co-chair of the committee working to improve the first-year student experience as part of OWU’s Moving the Needle initiative, launched to help students thrive and persist to graduation.

Also during the staff celebration, employees were recognized for service milestones occurring anytime during the past three years. The expanded timetable ensured those whose accomplishments couldn’t be recognized in person during the pandemic also were honored.

Harold Wiebe (center) is honored for his 50 years as a valued member of the Ohio Wesleyan faculty and staff. (Photo by Paul Vernon)

Harold Wiebe earned a standing ovation for his milestone 50 years of service to the University as both a professor of Mathematics and Computer Science and as a staff member, serving Information Services as its network and Linux systems administrator.

Wiebe’s honor was announced by Staff Council member and head football coach Tom Watts, who introduced him as “the man, the myth, the legend – Harold Wiebe.”

The following staff also were recognized for reaching service milestones during the past three years:

45 Years of Service

  • Tony Caldwell

35 Years of Service

  • Barbara Andereck
  • Nancy Rutkowski
  • Nancy Sanford 

30 Years of Service

  • Richard Hawes 

25 Years of Service

  • Laurie Patton ’95
  • Kirk Rustin
  • Laura Tuhela-Reuning 

20 Years of Service

  • Vicki Blommel
  • Kris Boey
  • Patrick Delaney
  • Jay Scheffel
  • Barbara Wiehe 

15 Years of Service

  • Shane Andrews
  • Cassie Cunningham
  • Joni Garloch ’17
  • Kellie Hall
  • Cole Hatcher
  • Chad Johns ’02
  • Stacey Lobdell
  • Janice Lovat
  • Todd Miller
  • Ida Mostofi
  • Tyler Mott ’04
  • Stephen Perakis
  • Sara Stuntz
  • Doug Thompson
  • Dawn Wright ’85 

10 Years of Service

  • Jenny Batchelder
  • Diana Brooks
  • Mindie Burke
  • Stacy Chaney-Blankenship ’03
  • Natalie Doan ’03
  • Julia Hatfield ’06
  • Melissa Hill
  • Sally Leber
  • Vicki Lefevre
  • Debbie Lewis
  • Lindsay Mauter
  • Joe Peterson
  • Mike Plantholt
  • Maureen Reese
  • Brian Rellinger
  • Melody Rotondo
  • Jennifer Seely
  • Mike Ward
  • Tom Watts
  • Mark Wicker 

Five Years of Service

  • Mindy Agin
  • Rick Bending
  • Ben Carlson
  • Dawn Chisebe
  • Cal Cleary
  • Dina Daltorio
  • Megan Ellis ’05
  • Erin Fletcher
  • Gregory Fransen
  • Dave Frohman
  • Tess Hallinan ’07
  • Jackie Harmony
  • Timothy Jordan ’09
  • Jonathon Koepf
  • Pam Majors
  • Anne Noonan
  • Brad Pulcini
  • Amanda Raab
  • Paul Reid
  • Brenda Semit
  • Ruth Szukala
  • Dwayne Todd
  • Rex Waldenmyer
  • Dacy Wilcox
  • Doug Zipp

Photos from the Staff Recognition Luncheon Event

Staff Recognition Luncheon - STAR Award