Dr. Earnest F. Amy's PhD thesis at Princeton was on Chaucer's The Legend of Good Women.  He taught at Ohio Wesleyan for thirty-nine years and served as chair of the English Department for eighteen of those year, from 1935 to 1953.  Later he established an international reputation as a Thomas Hardy scholar.

Dr. Amy was a bibliophile.  He left Beeghly his collection of Kate Greenaway materials.  It was largely through his efforts that the Bayley Room in the library was name when William D. Bayley donated a valuable collection of work by and about Walt Whitman.  Dr. Amy also was a painter and etcher, and the book plate for the book that the Amy Award winner receives is one of his designs.

The Amy Award honors an outstanding junior English major.  Please find the last five (5) years' award winners listed below.  For an exhaustive list of past recipients, please email the department at eng@owu.edu.

Year Recipient
2023 Katherine DiJulius
Jenna Nahhas
2022 Isabela Bernstein '23
Miranda Alvord '22
2021 Lily Callander '22
Acadia Caryl '22
2020 Emma Neeper '21
2019 John Keller '20