The Department of Politics and Government presents two departmental awards and inducts members into the Upsilon Chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha at the end of Spring semester. Students may apply to graduate with Departmental and/or University Honors (please note the changes described below).

Earl E. Warner Award for Academic Excellence

Established in 1978 to honor the senior politics and government major maintaining the highest grade point average during four years at Ohio Wesleyan University.  No Application is necessary.

List of recipients

Earl E. Warner Biography

James J. Hearn Award for Community Service

Established in 1953 to encourage wider participation by college men and women in affairs of government, this award is presented each spring to the student who demonstrated his or her abilities and dedication to public service. No Application is necessary.

List of recipients

James J. Hearn Biography

Graduation with Honors

All students matriculating at OWU Fall 2019 or later will follow the guidelines to Graduate with Honors. Students matriculating at OWU prior to Fall 2019 can pursue Graduation with Honors, OR they can choose to pursue Graduation with Honors using the previous University or Departmental Honors guidelines.

List of Departmental & University Honors recipients

Pi Sigma Alpha Honor Society

Membership in Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, is open to students with majors in Politics & Government or Pre-Law.  Membership criteria may be found here.

Inducted members from 2020-2024

List of Pi Sigma Alpha Members

100 Years of Pi Sigma Alpha

Department Contact Info


Elliott Hall 205
Ohio Wesleyan University
Delaware, OH 43015
P 740-368-3906

Department Contact

Department Chair: James Franklin
Professor of Politics and Government
Elliott Hall 308

Academic Assistant: Deborah Lovell
Elliott Hall 110