Full-Time Faculty

Paul Dean (Department Chair)

Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Justice; Coordinator of Faculty Onboarding
Elliott Hall 312
740-368-3837
psdean@owu.edu

Stratification and Inequality; Race and Ethnicity; Social Justice; Social Movements; Economic Sociology; Socially Responsible Business; Sociological Theory; Globalization; First-Gen Students; Service Learning

Full Bio

Vanessa Hildebrand

Associate Professor of Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 309
740-368-3786
vmhildebrand@owu.edu

Medical Anthropology; Development, Policy, and Global Health; Midwifery; Medical Education; Gender and Feminist Theory; Cultures of Biomedicine and Ethnomedicine; Maternal and Infant Health; Family; Research Methods; Southeast Asia, Indonesia, USA.

Full Bio

Veda Hyunjin Kim

Assistant Professor of Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 308
vhkim@owu.edu

Criminology, Crimes of the Powerful, Comparative Historical Sociology, Empire and Postcolonial Studies, Genocide, Transitional Justice, Intersectionality, and Social Theories.

Full Bio

Part-Time Faculty

Sean Brown

Part-Time Instructor in Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 402
sfbrown@owu.edu

Sociology of Sport (particularly youth sport); Social and Cultural Capital; Community Sociology; Sociology of Education; Qualitative Methods; Postcolonial Theory

Full Bio

Sam Mitchell

Part-Time Instructor in Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 402
srmitchell@owu.edu

Stratification and Inequality, Gender and Partnering Intentions: Higher Education, Academic Fraud, First-Generation College Students, Student Assessment and Instructional Design, and Credentialism 

Full Bio

Joe Dixon

Part-Time Instructor in Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 402
jadixon2@owu.edu

Wicked Problems, War and Warfare through History, Counterinsugency and Terrorism, International Drug Control

 

 

Staff

Deborah Lovell

Academic Assistant
Elliott Hall 205
740-368-3906 | djlovell@owu.edu

Retired Faculty

Theodore (Ted) Cohen

Emeritus Professor of Sociology & Anthropology

tfcohen@owu.edu

John (J.D.) Durst

Emeritus Part-Time Associate Professor of Sociology-Anthropology, Social Justice

jcdurst@owu.edu

Department Contact Info

Location

Elliott Hall 205
Ohio Wesleyan University
Delaware, OH 43015
P 740-368-3906

Department Contact

Department Chair: Paul Dean
Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Justice
Elliott Hall 312
740-368-3837
psdean@owu.edu

Academic Assistant: Deborah Lovell
Academic Assistant
Elliott Hall 110
740-368-3906
djlovell@owu.edu