Full-Time Faculty

Paul Dean

Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Justice; Chair of Sociology-Anthropology; Interim Director of Faculty Development
Elliott Hall 211C
740-368-3837
psdean@owu.edu

Stratification and Inequality; Race and Ethnicity; Social Justice; Social Movements; Economic Sociology; Socially Responsible Business; Sociological Theory; Globalization; First-Gen Students; Service Learning

Full Bio

John Durst

Associate Professor of Sociology-Anthropology, Social Justice
Elliott Hall 211B
740-368-3838
jcdurst@owu.edu

Criminology; Deviant Behavior; Punishment and Society; Rural/Appalachia; Immigration; Mental Health; Social Justice; Urban/Community Studies; Revitalization of Neighborhoods

Full Bio

Samantha Fox

Assistant Professor of Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 211
740-368-3836
skfox@owu.edu

Full Bio

Vanessa Hildebrand

Assistant Professor of Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 309
740-368-3786
vmhildebrand@owu.edu

Medical Anthropology; Development, Policy, and Global Health; Midwifery; Medical Education; Gender and Feminist Theory; Cultures of Biomedicine and Ethnomedicine; Maternal and Infant Health; Family; Research Methods; Southeast Asia, Indonesia, USA.

Full Bio

Alper Yalçinkaya

Associate Professor of Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 312
740-368-3923
mayalcin@owu.edu

Critical Social Thought; Science, Technology and Society; Sociology of Religion; Cultural and Social Change; Global Inequality; Culture, Art and Literature; Sociology of Emotions; Middle Eastern Societies

Full Bio

Part-Time Faculty

Yan Zhang

Part-Time Faculty Sociology-Anthropology
Elliott Hall 211
yyzhang@owu.edu

Staff

Retired Faculty

Theodore Cohen

Emeritus Professor of Sociology & Anthropology

tfcohen@owu.edu

Department Contact Info

Location

Elliott Hall 211
Ohio Wesleyan University
Delaware, OH 43015
P 740-368-3835
F 740-368-3644

Social Media

Facebook Visit Us

Department Contact

Chair: Paul S. Dean
Associate Professor of Sociology and Social Justice; Chair of Sociology-Anthropology; Interim Director of Faculty Development
Elliott Hall 211
740-368-3837
psdean@owu.edu

Academic Assistant: Dawn Wright
Elliott Hall 110
740-368-3631
dmwright@owu.edu