Ohio Wesleyan is a tax-exempt organization. Therefore, we are not subject to most federal and state taxes. Under no circumstances is the University required to pay Ohio sales tax. The tax-exempt number is printed on the front of your University credit card. A business may require that you present a tax-exempt form; however, in most cases the tax ID number will be enough information.

The University is exempt in the following states. Click on each state name to print the form (all forms are in PDF* format)

The states of Alaska, Delaware, Hawaii, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon charge no sales tax.

State guidelines do not allow OWU to be tax exempt in Alabama, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Georgia, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, or Virginia.